Just scraping by

Posted on June 14, 2006

0


The work up in NH has me back in the car for 1.5 hours each way each day and this will certainly help me with my goals. You see, a few of the goals – and I can’t remember if I posted them here in all their magnificent glory – have to do with improving my mind.

“Improving YOUR mind!???” you shout, wondering if that’s even possible.

Well, friends, it might be possible. Here’s how I know this….

The other day, I thought that the word Bonjour was a valid replacement for Touche.
When scrambling around the house to get to the basement laundry facilities I neglected to process the fact that rain can make rocks slippery and nearly cracked open my skull while flinging my underwear into the next yard.
I continually start my morning by backing the car 47 feet down the road so I can then go forward over the dirt part of the street. While I do this skilled back-up, I keep the emergency brake on, therefore helping wear down the braking system on my pocket car.
I have forgotten passwords for every site except this one and my long-extinct ORANGE bank account. It’s a joy to try and send money to people doing the MS Ride and not be able to get into my PayPal account.
I seem to space out on the fact that I have a weekly podcast to maintain. Luckily I remember this fact on Tuesday nights right before I go to bed – and a mere two hours before my show SHOULD be posted online.
I’ve bit my tongue lately about four times. The old adage about “Well, I won’t do that again” seems to be useless when it comes to my mouth learning to avoid my sore and meandering fleshy taster.
And, after being able to remember a car registration VIN in my head for years, I’ve lost the simple ability to remember more than two phone numbers. I know the number to the Skype account on my podcast – 206-973-PLAY, and the number for Dane L Schulman, the television lawyer (AND I HAVE TIVO SO WHAT AM I DOING WATCHING COMMERCIALS!!!!?????)

I hope the upcoming weeks find me doing a little more betterer.

*Harpoon B2B is this weekend. I sincerely hope that I didn’t forget everything I know about wrenching. Or I’d better get lucky and have no major technical challenges.

More to come…

